Spek & Bone Pop-Up Eatery at Le Grand Domaine Wines

Spek & Bone restaurant and Le Grand Domaine Wines collaborate for a limited five week period in the picturesque Devon Valley for a pop-up of shared plates, cooked on open fire

Launching 27 February 2020, the five week only Spek & Bone Pop-Up on Fire at Le Grand Domaine winery in Stellenbosch’s Devon Valley will offer weekends of fine food and epic wines in the most magnificent of settings.

The Spek & Bone inspired menu will be cooked on open fire, inspired by South African and global influences. Snacks on arrival will be followed by three flights of food served as sharing plates, making this not only a feast for the senses but a social event not to be missed. Seasonal and locally sourced ingredients are key for the perfect braai – highlights include roosterkoek with apricot whipped butter and whole baked brie; fire-grilled aubergine with tahini, cucumber and mint dressing; charred corn ribs; whole sustainable fish, palm sugar, chili and coriander; hang hoender with fire roasted cauliflower; sout ribbetjie; brioche and apple doughnuts; and lemon possets.

Spek & Bone says:

We are very excited to share some of our favourite dishes cooked on open fire with the rest of you. Come and join us for a lekker braai.

Boasting one of Stellenbosch’s most enviable settings, Le Grand Domaine is located at the top of beautiful Devon Valley, overlooking the majestic Stellenbosch mountains.

Devon Valley is also one of Stellenbosch’s best-kept secrets, both scenically and viticulturally. Vines have flourished here since the 18th century and it has an enviable reputation, not only for the red wines that have been made here, but also as a source of premium grapes. Le Grand Domaine winemaker Debbie Thompson says, “We are excited to be collaborating with Spek & Bone on this festive event. The wines we have selected will pair perfectly with the open fire-cooked dishes on offer and include our award winning Rosé, as well as our expressive and vibrant Sauvignon Blanc; all originating from some of South Africa’s best vineyards.”

Spek & Bone Pop-Up on Fire starts Thusrday 27 February and runs over five weekends until 29 March, every Friday and Saturday (and selected Thursdays) for dinner and Sundays for lunch.

  • 27 February (Thurs)
  • 28 February (Fri)
  • 29 February (Sat)
  • 1 March (Sun)
  • 6 March (Fri)
  • 7 March (Sat)
  • 8 March (Sun)
  • 12 March (Fri)
  • 13 March (Sat)
  • 14 March (Sun)
  • 19 March (Thu)
  • 20 March (Fri)
  • 21 March (Sat)
  • 22 March (Sun)
  • 26 March (Thu)
  • 27 March (Fri)
  • 28 March (Sat)
  • 29 March (Sun)

Tickets for sale on Dineplan at R500 per head, which includes a welcome drink, snacks on arrival and 3 flights of food. Le Grand Domaine wines can be purchased at the event. Bookings are essential.

Written by Marvin

Founder of FoodBlogSA Media. B.Bus.Sc. - Marketing; M.Bus.Sc- Tourism. A career in destination marketing was calling but then my passion for food took over. Welcome to our restaurant marketing platform.

[g1_socials_user user="1" icon_size="28" icon_color="text"]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2-for-1 Dinner Special at Bricklane Eatery

Deluxe High Tea at Hout Bay Manor every Sunday!